Iowa Wine Award Recipients to be Announced at Banquet

Awards Banquet Banner

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                    

DES MOINES, IA—The Iowa Wine Growers Association will be announcing and presenting the 2018 Iowa Wine Awards at the upcoming Iowa Wine Awards Banquet being held from 6:30 – 10:00 p.m. on Sunday, February 18, 2018 at The Cellar Winery/The Chateau in Elkhart, Iowa in conjunction with the 2018 Iowa Wine Growers Association Annual Conference.

The Iowa Wine Awards Banquet will feature a multi-course evening dinner specially paired with a selection of quality Iowa wines, as well as a social cocktail hour, evening entertainment provided by local musician Denny Richards, in addition to the awards presentation ceremony. The event is open to the public, ages 21 and over. Tickets can be purchased online at the Iowa Wine Growers Association website or by calling 515.282.8192.

Seven winemakers were nominated for the 2018 Winemaker of the Year Award. This award honors an Iowa winemaker who has served as a leader in the wine industry by crafting superior Iowa wines utilizing locally sourced products when possible, adhering to best practices of winemaking, and demonstrating a willingness to experiment and try new techniques while positively contributing to the industry as a whole. Nominees include Anne Zwink, Soldier Creek Winery in Fort Dodge; Kent Foulker, Cedar Ridge Winery & Distillery in Swisher; Zach Bott, Fireside Winery in Marengo and Ackerman Winery in Amana; Matt Haas, Dubuque Heritage Winery in Dubuque; Preston Gable, Backcountry Winery in Stratford; Dorothy O'Brien, Wide River Winery in Davenport, Le Claire and Clinton; and Doug Bakker, Madison County Winery in St. Charles.

Two vineyards were nominated for the 2018 Vineyard of the Year Award. This award honors an Iowa vineyard positively contributing to the industry through demonstrated superior viticulture practices, adhering to viticulture best practices to provide high quality produce for Iowa wineries, while continually seeking to improve their business through education and advancement. Nominees include Brian and Sheila Jones, 3 Sons Vineyard in Columbus Junction and Lucas McIntire, Kirkwood Community College/Winery at Kirkwood in Cedar Rapids.

Three industry members were nominated for the 2018 Retail Partner of the Year Award. This award honors an Iowa retailer who has supported the wine and grape industry growth in Iowa through partnership with Iowa wineries and vineyards and demonstrating willingness to showcase Iowa wines in the retail setting. Nominees include Jeremy & Tara Kohlhaas, The Wijn House in Pella; Aaron Stevens, Hy-Vee East in Ames and Deb Linsley, Hy-Vee Wine & Spirits in Knoxville.

One industry member was nominated for the 2018 Outstanding Industry Partner of the Year Award. This award honors an individual or organization that has supported the growth of the wine and grape industry in Iowa, served as an advocate for the industry and has positively impacted the quality of the Iowa grape and wine industry. The nominee was Dennis Dieters, Iowa Wine Tours in Dubuque.

"We are excited to honor these important members of our industry and look forward to a fun evening in celebration and recognition of their contributions,” said Cassie Bott, president of the Iowa Wine Growers Association.

The Iowa Wine Growers Association (IWGA) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the growth of the wine and grape industry in Iowa. Established in 2000, the Iowa Wine Growers Association (IWGA) supports the industry through education, marketing/promotion and legislative support. 

Last modified on Wednesday, 13 June 2018 18:21
Share »